Coin Release Schedules

Presidential Dollars Release Schedule

Mt. Rushmore, featuring portraits of presidents Washinton, Jefferson, Lincoln and Roosevelt

The Presidential dollar series of 2007-2016 honored the U.S. presidents in order of service from George Washington to Ronald Reagan (the series was limited by its authorizing law to presidents deceased for at least two years). The golden-colored coins, which bear the likeness of the featured president on the obverse and the Statue of Liberty on the reverse, were the first regular-issue dollars in over 200 years to bear edge lettering. Presidential dollars of 2007-2008 display the date, mint mark and mottoes e pluribus unum and in god we trust on the edge. The motto in god we trust appears on the obverse of 2009-2016 issues. Presidential dollars of 2012-2016 were struck only in limited quantities for collectors.

Presidential Dollars
  • Honored the U.S. presidents in order of service
  • Each issue was minted for about 3 months and then never again
  • First edge inscriptions on regular-issue dollars in over 200 years
  • Struck only in limited quantities for collectors from 2012-2016

To collect these popular coins, see our complete inventory of Uncirculated, Proof and exclusive Colorized Presidential dollars. To display, store and protect your collection, see our archival-quality Presidential dollar albums.

Though the U.S. Mint's Presidential dollar series honored only deceased presidents and ended with the 2016 Reagan dollar, you can complete your collection with Littleton's exclusive "Modern Presidents" dollars. Our golden colorized coins simulate the original Presidential dollars while our full-color coins feature exclusive lifelike images of the Modern Presidents.

Following is the date of issue for each coin in the Presidential dollar series:

PresidentYears in OfficeRelease Date
George Washington1789-1797February 15, 2007
John Adams1797-1801May 17, 2007
Thomas Jefferson1801-1809August 16, 2007
James Madison1809-1817November 15, 2007
PresidentYears in OfficeRelease Date
James Monroe1817-1825February 14, 2008
John Quincy Adams1825-1829May 15, 2008
Andrew Jackson1829-1837August 14, 2008
Martin Van Buren1837-1841November 13, 2008
PresidentYears in OfficeRelease Date
William Henry Harrison1841February 19, 2009
John Tyler1841-1845May 21, 2009
James K. Polk1845-1849August 20, 2009
Zachary Taylor1849-1850November 19, 2009
PresidentYears in OfficeRelease Date
Millard Fillmore1850-1853February 18, 2010
Franklin Pierce1853-1857May 20, 2010
James Buchanan1857-1861August 19, 2010
Abraham Lincoln1861-1865November 18, 2010
PresidentYears in OfficeRelease Date
Andrew Johnson1865-1869February 23, 2011
Ulysses S. Grant1869-1877May 19, 2011
Rutherford B. Hayes1877-1881August 18, 2011
James A. Garfield1881November 17, 2011
PresidentYears in OfficeRelease Date
Chester A. Arthur1881-1885April 5, 2012
Grover Cleveland1885-1889May 25, 2012
Benjamin Harrison1889-1893August 16, 2012
Grover Cleveland1893-1897November 15, 2012
PresidentYears in OfficeRelease Date
William McKinley1897-1901February 19, 2013
Theodore Roosevelt1901-1909April 11, 2013
William Howard Taft1909-1913July 9, 2013
Woodrow Wilson1913-1921October 17, 2013
PresidentYears in OfficeRelease Date
Warren G. Harding1921-1923February 6, 2014
Calvin Coolidge1923-1929April 10, 2014
Herbert Hoover1929-1933June 19, 2014
Franklin D. Roosevelt1933-1945August 28, 2014
PresidentYears in OfficeRelease Date
Harry S. Truman1945-1953February 5, 2015
Dwight D. Eisenhower1953-1961April 13, 2015
John F. Kennedy1961-1963June 18, 2015
Lyndon B. Johnson1963-1969August 18, 2015
PresidentYears in OfficeRelease Date
Richard M. Nixon1969-1974February 3, 2016
Gerald R. Ford1974-1977March 8, 2016
Ronald Reagan1981-1989July 1, 2016