About the U.S. Mints, BEP and Treasury

U.S. Treasury building

The United States Treasury building

The U.S. Mint designs and manufactures domestic, bullion and foreign coins, and maintains physical custody and protection of the nation's silver and gold assets. The Philadelphia Mint has been the main U.S. Mint facility since 1793. Former branch mints were established in Charlotte, NC, Dahlonega, GA and New Orleans, LA in 1838, and in Carson City, NV in 1870. Current branch mints include the San Francisco Mint established in 1854, the Denver Mint opened in 1906, and the West Point, NY facility created in 1984.

The Bureau of Engraving and Printing (BEP) designs and manufactures U.S. paper currency, securities and other official certificates. The BEP delivers supplies of new currency as requested to the Federal Reserve, which operates as the nation's central bank and regulates the supply of coins and currency in circulation.

The U.S. Mints and the BEP are agencies within the U.S. Treasury Department, which is responsible for the financial security of the United States. In addition to production of U.S. coins and paper currency, the Treasury Department manages all federal finances – including collecting federal taxes through the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), paying all bills, and borrowing funds as necessary to run the federal government.