DC & US Territory Commemorative Quarters (2009)

With the US Mint's hugely popular Statehood Quarters Program about to end, President George W. Bush signed legislation extending the series by one more year, plus six additional US Quarters and Commemorative Quarters. In 2009, the US Mint released six quarters celebrating the nation's capital, Washington, D.C., and its five US territories.

The Statehood US Quarters series created a revival in coin collecting, especially US Quarters. The opportunity to highlight the symbols, landmarks and heritage unique to DC and US territories further celebrated the renaissance in the reverse design of Commemorative Quarters.

Here's a checklist to help you keep track of your growing collection of US Quarters and Commemorative Quarters that make up the Statehood Quarters Program. It includes the six quarter designs released in 2009 that honor:

  • District of Columbia: Became the nation's capital on December 1, 1800
  • Puerto Rico: Spanish for "rich port," the island was ceded to the US in 1898. In 1917, residents became citizens. In 1952, it officially became a US commonwealth.
  • Guam: American forces secured the island during the Spanish-American War and reclaimed it after a two-year occupation by Japan in WWII. In 1950, the people of Guam became American citizens and established a local government.
  • American Samoa: Known as the heart of Polynesia, these islands became a US territory in 1929 when Congress ratified deeds of cession dating back to 1900.
  • US Virgin Islands: the US purchased St. Croix, St. Thomas and St. John from Denmark in 1917 and granted citizenship to residents in 1927. In 1954, the US Virgin Islands were allowed to create a central government with distinct executive, legislative and judicial branches.
  • Northern Mariana Islands: During WWII, US forces occupied these islands. In 1947, they were included in the US Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands. In 1976, the Northern Marianas became a US commonwealth.

For many, collecting these US Quarters and Commemorative Quarters is an exciting way to travel, discover America's great outdoors, and even appreciate the tactile appeal of holding these quarters in your hand.

In 2010, the reverse of US Quarters and Commemorative Quarters became the canvas for another new coin series from the US Mint. This time, DC and the five territories were included from the start of a series that celebrated the scenic views of our national parks. You can start your 2010-2021 collection of US Quarters and Commemorative Quarters honoring our national with this handy checklist!