National Park Quarter Series (2010-2021)

In 2010, the U.S. Mint introduced a new National Park Quarters program celebrating the majesty of America's beautiful and historic locations. The series featured five new reverse designs each year from 2010-2020, with one final design in 2021.

These legal tender commemorative coins are popular among nature enthusiasts and coin collectors alike. With a total of 56 different designs, this series offers a wide-range of opportunities for collectors. Whether you prefer Uncirculated issues, Proofs, coins enhanced in rich color or those presented in custom holders, you can find them all in our collection of National Park quarters for sale at Littleton Coin.

Our expert team is dedicated to making coin collecting an easy, safe and fun experience. Every item in our inventory, including each of our National Park coins, has been closely inspected to ensure it meets our strict quality standards. And our knowledgeable customer service team is here to help you find exactly what you're looking for.

About America's National Park Quarters

Following the wild success of the 1998-2008 Statehood quarters series and 2009 D.C. & U.S. Territories quarters, the U.S. Mint introduced the National Park Quarters series in 2010. A unique reverse design was issued for a national park or historic site in each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia and five U.S. territories. Each was selected for its natural and historical significance.

State Park Quarter Designs

The 56 different state, district and territory designs grace the reverses of the quarters and represent the unique character and environment of the featured sites. Like the Statehood quarters program, quarters with National Parks and historic locations were minted and issued at the rate of five designs per year, in approximately ten-week intervals, with one final design released in 2021. The coins were released in the order the locations were designated as national sites. Once the scheduled period of production was over for each issue, quarters of that design were no longer minted for circulation.

Obverse Features the "Father of Our Country"

The obverse of each National Park quarter featured a smaller restoration of the original Washington quarter portrait, modeled from designer John Flanagan's 1932 plaster. It honors George Washington, Commander in Chief of the Continental Army during the American Revolution and first U.S. President. The mint mark appears on the obverse, with the inscriptions united states of america, liberty,in god we trust and quarter dollar.

Mints and Mint Marks

Coins struck for circulation bear either a "P" (Philadelphia) or "D" (Denver) mint mark, signifying where the coins were produced. Special-issue Proof quarters bear the "S" mint mark of San Francisco, and were struck in both clad and silver versions.

Beginning in 2012, San Francisco also issued low-mintage Uncirculated quarters. The first of their kind since 1954, they were struck in limited quantities for collectors (not released for circulation).

And in 2019, the U.S. Mint announced two million of each quarter design that year would feature the seldom-seen "W" mint mark of the West Point Mint! These coins are prized by collectors because, while West Point had issued quarters before, those bore a "P" mint mark and were impossible to distinguish from Philadelphia coins.

America's beautiful National Park quarters give us a glimpse into the beloved sites across the country – so it's no surprise the series is popular among collectors of all ages. If you already have an existing collection of U.S. quarters from the National Parks series or are excited to begin one, our FREE National Park quarters checklist is a great place to start!