50 Commemorative State Quarters Collection (1999-2008)

The State Quarter series is the most popular program in the history of coin collecting. Launched with much fanfare in 1999 and met with lots of enthusiasm, especially among new collectors, the 50 State Commemorative Quarter series was an initiative that honored each of the states in the order they ratified the Constitution or were admitted to the Union. Each year, five Statehood quarters were unveiled. Each Statehood quarter was struck for 10 weeks, and will never be produced again.

Introduced by the 50 States Commemorative Coins Programs Act

Signed into law by President Bill Clinton on December 1, 1997, the act creating the Statehood quarters collection is considered one of the most significant pieces of legislation affecting circulating coins since the Coinage Act of 1965. There's more about this act to create Statehood quarters in our Learn Center.

Celebrating America's Heritage and Diversity

The design goal of the new Statehood quarter series was to raise awareness of U.S. history and geography. To accommodate state designs on the reverse, or tail, the words "United States of America," "Quarter Dollar," "Liberty," and "In God We Trust" all appear on the obverse, or head, along with the profile of our nation's first president, George Washington. Each state's theme was proposed, and approved, by the governor of that state. Final drawings were created by U.S. Mint designers.

Issuing Mints for the 50 State Commemorative Quarters

Circulating Statehood quarters in cupro-nickel clad were struck at the Philadelphia and Denver Mints. Proof coins struck in 90% silver were issued by the prestigious San Francisco Mint. A handy list of all the statehood quarters and their designs can be found here.

Special Issues

Following the Statehood quarters program, the U.S. Mint struck circulating coins for the District of Columbia and the five U.S. Territories for just one year – 2009, and issued two months apart. These quarters celebrate Washington, D.C. and the commonwealths of Puerto Rico and the Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa, Guam and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Each boasts unique geography, historic sites and customs that are reflected on their quarter's reverse design. The D.C. quarter honors Duke Ellington, the internationally renowned composer and musician, who is seated at a grand piano.

Add to your collection and complete the full series with State quarters for sale at Littleton Coin, all curated by our expert team.