New bronze plaque marks first site of Littleton Coin Company

A new bronze plaque commemorating the original site of Littleton Coin Company
is framed by John Eames and Ruth Taylor of Littleton Main Street, Inc. and
Coin Company founder Maynard Sundman and his son David, now president.

New bronze plaque marks first site
of Littleton Coin Company

Littleton, NH - A historic plaque commemorating the site of Littleton Coin Company's first home on the second floor of Tilton's Opera Block now hangs on the landmark Main Street building.

Littleton Coin Company began 56 years ago, after Fannie Kasper Sundman visited Littleton and selected it as the future site of their business and home, while Maynard served overseas. For his part, Maynard implicitly trusted Fannie's choice. Shortly upon discharge from the service, the couple traveled to Littleton and opened the doors of their business in the fall of 1945.

Littleton Coin's bronze marker is one of 25 new plaques that recently went up on buildings downtown as part of the Historic Plaque Project under Littleton Main Street, Inc. Because of the town's interesting past, many visitors explore the busy downtown area via the popular self-guided "walking tour." The new plaques provide fascinating insight into the buildings' unique histories and stories like that of Fannie and Maynard Sundman, making for a nostalgic tour of New England architectural heritage.

For more information about the Littleton Main Street, Inc. program, contact Ruth Taylor, Director at 1-603-444-7777 or e-mail lmsi@ncia.net.